News Politics

All APC Chieftains Hide In Shame, As President Buhari Makes Another Embarrasing Blunder

The President Muhammadu Buhari-led Federal Government, has included a dead person on its list of Nigerians banned from travelling abroad, ahead of the 2019 general elections.

It would be recalled  that on Saturday, Garba Shehu, the Presidential Spokesman, announced that at least 50 Nigerians being probed for alleged corruption, have been banned from leaving the country.

He had said that the action was to the effect of the Executive Order 6, recently signed by President Muhammadu Buhari.

However, it was a shocking sight to behold, that among the Nigerians placed on the watch-list seen by The Nation Newspaper, is Innocent Umezulike, a former Chief Judge of Enugu State, who has been deceased since June.


Interestingly, Umezulike passed away even before the Executive Order in question was signed by the President, in July.

The late Judge, who was arraigned in 2017, for alleged corruption, was laid to rest in September.

It could be recalled, that the Federal Government had committed a similar gaffe in December 2017, when it appointed five, not one or two, dead persons into various Boards of Government Agencies and Parastatals.


A former National Security Adviser, NSA, Sambo Dasuki, 13 former Governors, and 7 ex-Ministers, have been banned from travelling out of the country, under Executive Order 6 (EO6), issued on Saturday, by President Muhammadu Buhari.

The restriction followed the judicial affirmation of the constitutionality and legality of the Executive Order 6 (EO6).

The watch-list and restriction were put in place, pending the conclusion of the cases against those affected.

Also on the watch-list seen last by The Nation Newspaper (Not Post-Nigeria), are: ex-Governors Saminu Turaki (Jigawa), Murtala Nyako (Adamawa), Adebayo Alao-Akala (Oyo), Gabriel Suswam (Benue), Rasheed Ladoja (Oyo), Orji Uzor Kalu (Abia), Danjuma Goje (Gombe), Attahiru Bafarawa (Sokoto), Muazu Babangida Aliyu (Niger), Chimaroke Nnamani (Enugu), Sule Lamido (Jigawa), Gbenga Daniel (Ogun), and Ibrahim Shehu Shema (Katsina).

The ex-Ministers are: Nenadi Usman, Bashir Yuguda, Jumoke Akinjide, Bala Mohammed, Abba Moro, Femi Fani-Kayode, and Ahmadu Fintiri.

Others include: a former Chief of Defence Staff, Air Marshal Alex Badeh; ex-Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral A. D. Jibrin; a former Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Mohammed Dikko Umar; a former Inspector-General of Police, Sunday Ehindero; and a former Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Adesola Amosu; Chairman Emeritus of AIT/ Raypower, High Chief Raymond Dokpesi; Waripamowei Dudafa (a former Special Assistant (Domestic) to ex-President Goodluck Jonathan); a former Chief Judge of Enugu State, Justice Innocent Umezulike; a former Judge of the Federal High Court, Justice Rita Ofili-Ajumogobia.

Also on the list are: a former National Publicity Secretary of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Olisa Metuh, Chief Jide Omokore, Ricky Tarfa, and Dele Belgore (SAN).

Most of the affected persons are currently facing trial for alleged corrupt practices in different courts.

The list was generated from cases and proceedings filed by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission, guaranteeing the Nigeria Police, and 17 other Agencies.

The document indicated that many of those affected had earlier been placed on similar legal restrictions by the courts and Security Agencies, including restriction of movement, seizure of passports, temporary forfeiture of assets, freezing of accounts, and others.

Explaining the Government’s action in a statement on Saturday, the Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, Garba Shehu, said: “Following the instant judicial affirmation of the constitutionality and legality of the Executive Order 6 (EO6), President Muhammadu Buhari has mandated the Attorney-General of the Federation and the Minister of Justice, to implement the Order in full force.

“To this end, a number of enforcement procedures are currently in place, by which the Nigeria Immigration Service and other Security Agencies have placed no fewer than 50 high profile persons directly affected by EO6 on watch-list, and restricted them from leaving the country, pending the determination of their cases.

“Also, the financial transactions of these persons of interest are being monitored by the relevant Agencies, to ensure that the assets are not dissipated, and such persons do not interfere with, nor howsoever corrupt the investigation and litigation processes.

“It is instructive to note that EO6 was specifically directed to relevant law enforcement Agencies, to ensure that all assets within a minimum value of N50 million or equivalent, subject to investigation or litigation, are protected from dissipation, by employing all available lawful means, pending the final determination of any corruption-related matter.

“The Buhari administration reassures all well-meaning and patriotic Nigerians. of its commitment to the fight against corruption, in accordance with the 1999 Constitution (as amended), and the general principles of the Rule of Law.

“Accordingly, this administration will uphold the rule of law in all its actions, and the right of citizens would be protected as guaranteed by the Constitution.

“We, therefore, enjoin all Nigerians to cooperate with the law enforcement authorities, towards ensuring a successful implementation of the Executive Order 6, which is a paradigm-changing policy of the Federal Government in the fight against corruption.”

A top government official, who spoke in confidence, said that there is no cause for alarm on the E06.

The source said: “The ban is not different from the conditions given by the court in granting these accused persons bail. The E06 is like a codification of steps to prevent those on trial for alleged corrupt practices, from tampering with assets.

“Some of these accused persons used to go to court for permission before they can travel out of the country. The E06 is not a new thing, but instead of all Agencies working at cross-purposes, a list was generated and backed with the Executive Order.

“Some of those on trial, especially the Politically Exposed Persons (PEPs), had been selling their assets. What will they return after being convicted?”

Credit: DailyAdvent

Related Posts

Leave a Reply